Former Members


Tasia Lightly Ph.D. 2020. Now a staff Scientist at Cytophage.

Brijesh Kumar, Ph.D. 2017. Now a Commercial Director at Info-Tech Research Group.
Harry Yudistira got his Master’s degree in 2010. Now a Ph.D. and a Research Scientist at NutriAg Ltd
Jason Hamlin  Masters 2008. Now a Ph.D. and a Product Manager in Stemcell Technologies, BC.
Allison Balasko, a former Project Student. Now a Canada Vanier Scholar working in Keith Fowke Lab.
Armando Chaparro, MITACS Globalink Intern in 2018. Now a Master’s Student in the Ortega Lab, McGill University.
Kevin Jeffers, a Project Student in 2019. Now a Graduate Student in the Genetics Program at the University of British Columbia.

Complete List

Postdoctoral Fellows

2012-2014 Carrie Selin. MHRC Postdoctoral Fellow. Identification of target/mechanism of action of molecules with antibacterial properties for treatment against Burkholderia cepacia complex. Current position: Seasonal Instructor, University of Manitoba.

2014-2016 Maria Silvina Stietz. Exploration of small inhibitory RNAs as antibiotics against Burkholderia cepacia complex. Current position: Job searching.

Graduate Students

The University of Manitoba

2006-2008 Jason N. R. Hamlin. MSc Thesis. Regulation of The Phenylacetic Acid Catabolic Pathway in Burkholderia cenocepacia. MHRC Scholarship. Current position: Product Manager, Neuroscience, Research & Development, Stemcell Technologies.

2007-2009 Robyn J. Law. MSc Thesis. The Relationship Between Phenylacetic Acid Catabolism and Pathogenicity of Burkholderia cenocepacia K56-2 In The Caenorhabditis elegans Host. NSERC Scholarship. Current Position: Technology Transfer Officer. University of British Columbia.

2008-2010 Harry Yudistira. MSc Thesis. Metabolism of Burkholderia cenocepacia in the Cystic Fibrosis Lung Current position: Research Scientist at NutriAg Ltd.

2009-2011 Ijeme Imolorhe. MSc Thesis Functional Characterization of the phenyl acetyl-CoA ligase genes of Burkholderia cenocepacia.

2008-2015 Ruhullah Bloodworth. Ph.D. Thesis. Identification of Essential Genes In Burkholderia cenocepacia. NSERC Scholarship.

2011-2014 Tanya Pribytkova. MSc Thesis. The attenuated virulence of a Burkholderia cenocepacia paaABCDE mutant is due to inhibition of quorum sensing by the release of phenylacetic acid. Current position: Dentistry Student.

2015-2017 Matthew Choy. MSc Thesis. A novel two-component system involved in the growth and antimicrobial resistance of Burkholderia cenocepacia. Current position: Optometry student.

2014-2020 Tasia Lightly Ph.D. Thesis. Phenylacetic acid metabolism as a regulator of quorum sensing during microbial interactions. Current Position: Industrial PDF at Cytophage technologies.

2018-2021 Haben Tesfu. MSc Thesis. Identification and characterization of extracellular mcl-PHA depolymerase and lipases in members of the Proteobacteria.

Visiting Students

2013-2014 Agustina Lopez de Volder. Genome sequencing of Burkholderia contaminans strains from Argentina.

2016 Maria Sol Haim. Genome sequencing of Staphylococcus aureus clinical isolates.

2019-2020 Beltina Leon. Tn-seq in Burkholderia contaminans.

Undergraduate Students

Honors Project students

Aida Sivro, Stuart McCorrister, Hanna El-Azzami, Anene Peters, Alexander Nerbas, Leigh MacClarty, Chinelo Ezeonwuka, Holly Hurst, Sara Madill, Gayanthi Tissera, Matthew Choy, Allison Balasko, Tarek Kanam, Branden Gregorchuk, Vince Henega, Samuel Wolfram, Haben Tofu, Kelvin Jeffers, Stacey Line, Melvick Pakingam, Brielle Martens

NSERC and Faculty of Science Summer Students

Rebeka Van Bruggen, Kali Teichroeb, Anene Peters, Kristyn Buchko, Blair Peters, Jesse Franklin, Samira Atoui, Alicia Ling, Aaron MacAulay, Shilpa Alex, Idunnu Adeojo, Jessica Holben, Nayara Martins Ribeiro, Marcelly Chue Goncalvez, Andrea Soriano, Ryan Phung, Hongru Ren, Carmichael Mabilangan, William MacDougall, Allison Balasko, Ossi Osifo, Kara Frejuk, Nathaliel Sertu, Shelly Ham, Flyn Gallardo

Co-op Students

Fatima Kabanangi, Michelle Park, Nelson Mok, Kartik Sachar, Ryan Ha, Hoang Anh Koy Nguyen, Lukas Timmerman, Brandon Cash.

MITACS Globalink Students

Armando Palacios Chaparro, Fathima Asfal, Zayra Batun.

%d bloggers like this: